February 17, 2014

CRISPR/Cas Mediated Genome Engineering in Mice

Targeting multiple genes in one generation? Systematically modulating individual components of a system in a few years rather than decades? The promises of precise, combinatorial, efficient methods for genomic engineering are exciting. The CRISPR/Cas technology applied to mouse genetic engineering could quickly advance scientific understanding of disease mechanisms by allowing researchers to ask complex questions and find answers much faster than with traditional gene targeting approaches. During this webinar, Dr. Haoyi Wang, one of the developers of this revolutionary technology will share how CRISPR/Cas has been used successfully in mice to generate endogenous knock-in alleles, conditional (“floxed”) mutations, as well as multiple mutations in a single generation. Join us for this presentation as we discuss the following topics:

  • How CRISPR/Cas9 works to modify host genomes
  • How this technology compares to similar technologies
  • Ways in which CRISPR/Cas9 has been used to make targeted mutations and insertions
  • Technical challenges and practical considerations

Guest Presenter:

  • Haoyi Wang, Ph.D., Adjunct Faculty, The Jackson Laboratory

Moderators: 

  • Wenning Qin, Ph.D., Associate Director, Genetic Engineering Technologies, The Jackson Laboratory
  • Kathy Snow, Ph.D., Manager, Technical Information Services, The Jackson Laboratory

Date: March 27, 2014

Time: 10am PT / 11am MT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET*

Register Now

Business or institutional email address is required. To request an exception to this policy, please contact our webinar staff.

Webinar attendance is assured only for participants who register at least 1 hour prior to scheduled start time

*To convert times and dates to your location use a Time Zone Map website such as this one (ET in the US is the same as New York City, New York).